Post Apocalyptic / Civilization Building Books – Part 1 – Lest Darkness Fall

Posted on June 30, 2012

0


Firstly, I am not trying to give a full review of these books. My meagar writing and recalling skills are not up to that. Instead, I just wanted to present these all together in one posting to create a list of the best of post apocalyptic books.

Also, let me say that these are not technically all post apocalyptic. But those that aren’t share some of the characteristics of a post apocalypse which is technology and civilization rebuilding. Furthermore, that I’ll be adding to this list as I think of them and also, as I discover any new ones. Please check back for updates and comment if you know of others not listed here. I would love to find new ones and share those.

I guess I like these so much because I really like my civilization and modern comforts and these help me to appreciate them.

Let me start with a classic. Lest Darkness Fall & To Bring the Light is a A Connecticut Yankee in King Author’s Court type story. We find our hero in this case suddenly in ancient Rome where he tries to prevent the fall of the Roman Empire by providing the technology base to hold off the barbarian horde. It includes follow on stories by David Drake and others regarding possible long term effects from this changing of history.

